RTW #73: KidLit

by Brandi Ziegler

I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves. 

~Anna Quindlen

 

If you haven’t heard of YAHighway and their Road Trip Wednesdays then you’re not reading my blog enough. Every week they post a writing- or reading-related question. This week’s topic:

What books were you obsessed with as a kid?

 

 


I devoured Dr. Seuss as a kid. I loved them so much I’d sit and copy his delightful rhymes in my best handwriting and then recite them to my little sister.


When I wasn’t transcribing Dr. Seuss I was reading this children’s bible my mother gave me. It contained 95 bible stories and I read every one.


I loved THE BERNSTEIN BEARS growing up!


I’ve read this series featuring Ralph the Mouse more times than I can count.


My first brush with horror. THE NIGHT OF THE LIVING DUMMY series still haunts me to this day!


THE SONG OF THE LIONESS series for the win! The first kick-ass heroine I ever fell in love with. All girls should read this series.



I became a sucker for horror and fantasy, so eventually I got into these.

At a young age I fell in love with Stephen King because of the way he develops an entire world around your worst fears and then traumatizes you with it. And who doesn’t love Harry Potter?

 

So – what books were you obsessed with as a kid?

