RTW # 75: My Best Scar

by Brandi Ziegler

The role of a writer is not to say what we all can say, but what we are unable to say. 

~Anaïs Nin

 

YA Highway makes my Wednesdays with their weekly Road Trips. This week’s prompt is a little different, albeit fun.

What is the story of your best scar?

 

I have a scar on the outside corner of my right eyebrow. It’s from two injuries. Alas, the details are pretty vague.

First injury occurred when I was four. While playing on my mom’s chairs in the formal dining room – a big NO NO – I fell headfirst onto the hardwood and cracked my head right open. I remember being scared of two things at the time: my mother’s wrath, and the hospital.

I have severe white coat syndrome. My experience in the hospital and the stitches I had to endure traumatized me way more than the buckets of blood pouring from my head.

The second injury is slightly more graphic. My little sister and I were in this physical fight at the age of five and eight. Suddenly she pinned me in an epic death-grip and bit the skin clean off my temple. I think all I got that time was a lecture and a band-aid.

Let’s see if you can outdo my scar story in the comments.

