RTW #78: Read My Words

by Brandi Ziegler

It is what you read when you don’t have to that determines what you will be when you can’t help it. 

~ Oscar Wilde

 

Time for another Road Trip Wednesday! I love this week’s topic:

 

Some audiobooks are read by celebrities. Most recently, Cassandra Clare’s CITY OF FALLEN ANGELS was partly read by Ed Westwick of Gossip Girl.

So, if you got to choose a celebrity narrator for the audio book of your WIP or your favorite novel, who would it be and why?

 

I can’t think of a celebrity whose voice I’m in love with. Well, there’s Mike Rowe from the Discovery Channel show Dirty Jobs. But his voice isn’t right for my book.

So, my pick was a celebrity more so in the UK than here in the States. His name pops up for those who understand the esoteric phrase “Don’t Panic”. Many people recognize his book. Seriously, if you haven’t read The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy you are so missing out. I would love for Douglas Adams to narrate the audio of ESTG, my completed manuscript that I’m currently querying.

He did an amazing job with his own book. I felt completely absorbed in his world as he told me about the life of Arthur Dent. I’m sure Adam’s years as a radio host helped. And his UK status works out because ESTG is epic fantasy and an English accent would be perfect. Too bad Douglas Adams is no longer with us. So long and thanks for all the fish, Sir.

Anyway, which celebrity would you pick to narrate your WIP or favorite novel?

 

