Confessions of a Writer: BackUp

by Brandi Ziegler

If my doctor told me I had only six minutes to live, I wouldn’t brood.  I’d type a little faster.  ~Isaac Asimov

 

I thought I did pretty well with backing up my files. All my stories have three different homes and are updated almost daily. Freelance work, love letters to my husband and children’s story ideas are safe and secure. And I had a flash drive with me at all times. A flash drive filled with my writing quotes, ESTG ideas, and everything listed above. Having the ability to access my work at any time and type a new idea to save for later use felt so reassuring. Well, these last few weeks I found out something:

I suck at backing up files.

I lost my flash drive. And I literally lost my mind for a few days. Everything made me cranky. I learned new things about my house as I searched every inch of it over and over again in tears. Files like my writing quotes and an extensive list of book ideas were only on that flash drive.

I know. I don’t know what I was thinking. It gets better. My blog posts were saved on that flash drive. I KNOW. I warned you above: I suck at backing up files.

I’m at peace about the whole situation now. The very important files (my manuscripts, articles, a good chunk of writing ideas, etc.) are still in my care, and for that I’m thankful. A few friends have said, “It came from your head. Those ideas are still there.” Others say, “You know you definitely lost it in the house, so it’ll turn up at the right time.”

I pray they’re right.

Anyway, sorry for the long radio silence. I’m in the midst of the querying trenches, and I hope to have good news for you soon!

