RTW #85: June Fav

by Brandi Ziegler

The things I want to know are in books; my best friend is the man who’ll get me a book I ain’t read.

~ Abraham Lincoln

I forgot to post for RTW last week. Seriously, I typed it out and just forgot to put it on the blog. Silly me. For those of you who don’t know, the ladies over at YAHighway.com have a weekly prompt on Wednesdays and they encourage bloggers everywhere to partake in the fun. Hence: Road Trip Wednesdays.

 

This week’s prompt:

 

What’s the best book you’ve read this month?


Ha, this one was a total no-brainer for me.

 

ROOM by Emma Donoghue – this was one of the best books I read this year let alone this month! The voice reminded me of the innocence in another heartbreaker, A CHILD CALLED “IT” by Dave Pelzer. I recommend that book too.

 

Here’s a description of ROOM from its official website:

 

To five-year-old-Jack, Room is the world….

It’s where he was born, it’s where he and his Ma eat and sleep and play and learn.  There are endless wonders that let loose Jack’s imagination-the snake under Bed that he constructs out of eggshells, the imaginary world projected through the TV, the coziness of Wardrobe beneath Ma’s clothes, where she tucks him in safely at night, in case Old Nick comes.

Room is home to Jack, but to Ma, it’s the prison where she’s been held since she was nineteen-for seven long years.  Through her fierce love for her son, she has created a life for him in that eleven-by-eleven-foot space. But Jack’s curiosity is building alongside her own desperation—and she knows that Room cannot contain either indefinitely….

Told in the inventive, funny, and poignant voice of Jack, Room is a celebration of resilience-and a powerful story of a mother and son whose love lets them survive the impossible.

 

I laughed, I cried, I squirmed, I applauded Donoghue’s boldness. This is an A-MAZING book, you guys! Lately I’ve been reading a lot of YA fantasy and contemporary novels with romance and adventure and happy times galore. As a writer, I feel it’s important to read books that focus on the ugliness of the world too. And the voice of Jack – totally reminded me of my step-daughter when she was five. Spot on, Emma!

 

If you want something real and in your face, something that immerses you in an awful nightmare of someone else’s reality: read this book. If you don’t want something like that read this book anyway, especially if you’re a writer. Maybe I’m crazy but my favorite kind of research is reading books about whatever subject I need info on instead of surfing the interwebs. That way I get a lesson on good writing too. I never knew what it was like to be kept prisoner in modern America while the world passes you by. Thanks to Emma, I do now. One more thing to add to my armory…

 

Okay, I’ll get off my soapbox. How ’bout you guys? Read any good ones this month?

 

 

 


 

