New Beginnings

by Brandi Ziegler

“A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.” 

~ Richard Bach

 

I planned to post in January, but I didn’t expect to on the last day! Well, Happy New Year, everyone! Now that the holiday season is over (way over – geez), it’s back to business.

If you’ve been following my blog, you know my ultimate goal last year had been to gain representation with a literary agency. Sadly, the goal was not met before 2012, but I believe God’s timing is perfect and it only takes one “yes”!

I also believe in query letter critiques. From friends, family, critique groups, and fellow writers agented or unagented. I’ve been lucky to receive critiques from all of the above, but there are still plenty of resources out there!

My most recent go-to’s are two fab online communities.

AbsoluteWrite: This website’s Share Your Work – Query Letter Hell forum is amazingly brutal and filled with advice from all types in the industry.

Agent Query Connect: I don’t know many authors who haven’t used Agent Query. This is a very generous community that really wants to see you succeed.

So, if you’re polishing your query letter, give these two websites a try. I feel like 2012 is going to be big, guys. Lots of new books and new beginnings! God bless and happy writing!

