The Boat Sank But My Heart Soared

Jack: Whew! I’m Jack Dawson.
Rose: Rose De Witt Bukater.
Jack: I’m gonna have to get you to write that one down.

 

The 100th anniversary of the RMS Titanic’s sinking is this Sunday. I was eleven years old when James Cameron’s movie came out and it was the last thing on my mind. I was reeling from my parent’s divorce. Anyway…

I guess my dad liked it. Either that or someone gave him the box set. One night when I was thirteen I was perusing our limited supply of movies. It was pretty much between Star Wars, Indiana Jones, and Titanic. At the time Titanic seemed the most interesting. Now Star Wars would win hands down but I digress.


I got comfy and watched the looong movie, switching out tapes at the dead of night. Titanic solidified my love for forbidden romance. Rose and Jack had no business looking at each other, let alone shagging in the cargo hold of a ship. I think Jack sketching Rose was one of the most romantic scenes ever. I adored the string quartet. My jaw dropped when the ship broke in half. My heart broke for those resigned to their deaths. That elderly couple holding each other in their cabin… really, Cameron!? And when Rose had to pry her hand out of Jack’s cold, dead grasp… OMG!

I intend to watch it again soon. And I’ve been meaning to pick up one of the many books based on the tragic sinking of this beautiful ship. I’ve heard good things about Walter Lord’s A NIGHT TO REMEMER. Hmm…

Did you see Titanic in the theatres? Have you never seen it and my title totally ruined it for you?