#PitchWars Hangover

by Brandi Ziegler

Anyone who says writing is easy isn’t doing it right.

~ Amy Joy

The last two months have been leading (agonizingly slow) up to #PitchWars, but then the two-day agent round seemed to fly by! My entry received a few requests. Plus my mentor received an email directly from an agent asking for a full. So, exciting times!

It was such a wonderful experience. My mentor, Marieke Nijkamp, has done so much for me and my manuscript. Just believing in me and picking me to represent her has been an honor. My alternate, Evie Bromiley, also received multiple requests! It was a good competition for all of us. And Brenda Drake, the lovely hostess of #PitchWars, worked tirelessly to provide this opportunity for us aspiring writers. I am forever grateful!

I must say, I’ve been a wreck off and on for the last two months because of this competition. Lots of nail-biting and waiting! I suppose it’s just prepping me for all the patience I’ll need as I continue down the path of publication. The publishing industry is all about waiting.

If any writer out there is hesitant about entering writing competitions or thinking about entering one – do it! This was my second year entering #PitchWars and it’s been an absolute blast! Brenda is hosting a few more events this year, and there’s always next year. Never give up, believe in yourself, in your writing, and you’ll go far.

Also, never stop writing. NaNoWriMo is in full swing. I’ve never won, but the energy and camaraderie from participants is contagious, and I can’t help but write like crazy.

I’m super excited to see what the future holds for me. While I wait (ugh) I’ll just keep writing, just keep writing. And of course READING. My TBR pile is climbable.

Happy writing!

